BBR Trub Experiment – Bottling the Old Ale

After eight days in the primary I measured the gravity at 1.017 or so, which represents 73% attenuation and no activity in the airlock I call it done.  6.2% ABV, 62 IBU, 20 SRM.  The color difference that was noted before is now gone:

I am not going to get very fussy about this bottling. After all, I will be lucky to get a six pack out of either batch.  I carefully boil 20 or 30 milliliters of water with 12 grams of corn sugar (twice, once for each batch).  I pour one of the syrups into a third, empty gallon jug and then rack the non trub wort on top of it.  A little swirling, then I pour (yes, pour) the beer into six 12 ounce bottles and cap. The final gravity was 1.017, which I measured with a “bottling hydrometer”, that is, a hydrometer that only reads from 0.990 to 1.020.  The marks are far enough apart that even a far sighted coot like me can tell the difference between 1.017 and 1.018.

Once the trub batch is done I pour the second syrup into the bottling jug and rack the trub wort on top of it.  This time I only get 5 bottles, and the FG is 1.018.  All eleven bottles go into conditioning at room temperature.

Of course I taste the hydrometer samples, and I find that the difference is subtle.  Flavor wise I don’t pick up much difference, but a dark, slightly roasty flavor may cover the subtleties.  What I do think I perceived was a difference in texture on the tongue.  Could it be diacetyl?  I am not sensitive to the flavor, but I have learned to perceive it as a slickness on the tongue.  Not sure, we will wait for later judgment.

Well I thought I had found all of the differences but the beer had one last surprise left:

When I went to clean up, I found the jug containing the “trub sample” almost rinsed clean with warm water.  The ring on the control sample required scrubbing with a brush to remove the ring.

Beer. You just never know.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

