Utter Pretentiousness

I have touched on this topic before, but I am going there again.  A friend gave me an old copy of Beer Advocate magazine, which was nice of him and I enjoy the magazine itself well enough.  But the review of a particular Dubbel called out ‘muscat raisins’ and ‘mulberries’ in the aroma a ‘faint lingonberry’ in the taste.  Lingonberry? What the hell is that?  Luckily Wikipedia is not blacked out today, so I could at least look it up.   Turns out you can buy it at IKEA.  Some assembly required.  And muscat raisins?  Plain old dried seedless or golden just isn’t good enough?

I realize writing about flavors is tough.  But please don’t insult me.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

